father’s day

Since I first viewed it in September, Bon Appetit’s How To Make A Smash Burger At Home video has echoed through my mind as I fall asleep each night. Adam Rapoport’s silver-fox good looks, those lacy edges of that burger, that melty American cheese on a Martin’s potato roll…it is all the stuff of my dreams. I have wanted to make this burger for ages, and I thought Father’s Day was as good a time as any to try it out.

IMG_7989

The burger is made on a cast-iron skillet (very appealing to me) and not a grill, because as Adam so wisely explains, when you grill a burger, all the good stuff (i.e. fat) drips to the bottom of the grill. This totally explains why I hate all grilled burgers!!! I don’t know how I had never thought of it before.

I started these burgers and it all started relatively smoothly. The skillet was nice and preheated, the burger patties were loosely packed as instructed, but then CAST-IRON CHAOS ENSUED! I am used to the smoke alarm in my apartment going off any time I use my skillet, but it’s very sensitive. Thought my house might be different! But I started making more and more of these burgers, and the skillet got more and more smoky, and the house got more and more smoky, and then every smoke alarm in my house went off. Happy Father’s Day!

IMG_7990

I should have had all the cheese slices unwrapped before I started, which was such a rookie mistake. The burgers still turned out great though. I used brioche buns (even though Adam Rapoport advised against that) from the bakery I work at. We don’t have Martin’s buns in Texas, Adam!!! (how does the Austin Shake Shack get them and can they hook me up with their supplier?!?) I also made a delicious sauce of ketchup, mayo, onion powder, pickle juice, and celery salt. I was slurping that up.

I accompanied the burgers with a cole slaw recipe from one of my mom’s best friends. It’s pretty light, especially compared to most slaws. Lots of fresh herbs and really light on the dressing. I also made a simple caprese salad with summer tomatoes which are nearly at their peak! It was good for the burgers to be balanced with something fresher.

IMG_7997

My dad’s favorite dessert is a peach cobbler, with Texas peaches that are right in season during his birthday month of June. When I was working at the bakery on Sunday, they brought out this peach crumble pie and I knew he needed to have it for his dad’s day dinner. I bought it on the spot. It was delicious served with a dollop of Blue Bell vanilla.

The house doesn’t even smell like smoke anymore so these yummy burgers are a success in my book.

-Sophie

1 thought on “father’s day”

Leave a Reply

