lemony leek meatballs

Sami Tomimi and Yotam Ottolenghi’s cookbook “Jerusalem” is a smash hit, and rightfully deserved. The book is full of the brightest, most beautiful photographs of the colorful food of Israel. I have a list of dishes I want to make from it, but this was the first one I attempted– primarily, it used ingredients available at Trader Joe’s (no need to drive far and wide looking for a particular spice that would make or break a dish) and secondly, because it sounded delicious.

I first started to love leeks over the summer, when I first tried the leek quiche at the bakery I work at. When my stomach rumbled during my seven hour shift and I couldn’t bring myself to eat another croissant (the only way this sentence is not blasphemous is if you ate the amount of croissants I did), I would stealthily go for the leek quiche. It’s an insanely delicious quiche. But that’s another story.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

These meatballs are quite the lengthy production, but they made for a pleasant Saturday project in my kitchen. They are a bright and citrusy version of an old favorite- more leek than meat, actually. I’ve stowed the whole batch in my freezer and will whip it out to make more of these naan meatball subs- garlic naan (thanks Trader Joe’s), plain Greek yogurt, parsley garnish. Yum.

-Sophie

Leave a Reply

