tomato-glazed meatloaves with brown butter mashed potatoes

I think there’s something about meatloaf that just wigs some people out. My guess is that it’s the name meatloaf. A loaf of meat conjures up some gross things in the head. Like Deb of Smitten Kitchen, the author of this recipe, I feel a little weird about meatloaf and was very happy to see her rework it into something more palatable for those picky folks- a large meatball/tiny meatloaf ball! Something even a bit elegant, I daresay! This was so good and felt totally comfort-food-y even when meatloaf was not ever something I grew up eating. The glaze is made of tomato paste, Dijon, honey, and lots of other things. It was like an extremely amplified version of the traditional ketchup on the meatloaf. Yum.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

For being such a simple dish, mashed potatoes have been notoriously difficult for me. These were some of my best so far, though not as mashed as I had hoped. I have neither a mixer nor a food mill nor a potato masher. I started mashing with a fork and was failing until I remembered my brand new PASTRY CUTTER, which worked pretty well in a pinch. The brown butter was amazing in these potatoes! It made them smell like pastries HA. I have a happy stomach tonight!

-Sophie

 

Leave a Reply

