butternut squash and caramelized onion galette

I will admit that I’m not the best at eating vegetables. But you know what makes eating vegetables easier? When they’re wrapped in a buttery pastry crust surrounded with cheese! I don’t think I had ever had a butternut squash before, and this galette was a wonderful introduction. The recipe is from the Smitten Kitchen cookbook, and it was just amazing!! I’m calling it and saying that this is the most impressive thing I’ve made in my apartment kitchen so far.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I was about to use a storebought puff pastry but went with the homemade dough when my mom surprised me with a pastry cutter. And I am VERY glad I did. This was a delicious dough- flaky, buttery, and very easy to make, requiring nothing more complicated than that pastry cutter.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I guess I like butternut squash now! Good for me!

-Sophie

Leave a Reply

