broiled grapefruit with yogurt and granola

Uhhh MORE FANCY BREAKFASTS? Of course. This was delicious and fancy but I did start feeling hungry about….twenty minutes after I ate. I rarely eat fruit, and NEVER eat just fruit for breakfast, but this idea came to me last night and I was realllll excited to try it this morning. I put brown sugar on the top and caramelized it in the broiler for 5-7 minutes, then topped it with vanilla Greek yogurt, a bit of cinnamon, and my homemade granola. It drips away the most delicious brown sugary-grapefruit juice that I was slurping up like an uncivilized dog. Would recommend….alongside a more substantial breakfast.

Today for dinner I tried to make a classic of both Ina Garten and my mother- chicken with goat cheese and basil. This was one of my favorite dinners that my mom made before I even knew who Ina was. It’s three ingredients and little to no preparation or cooking. But I can’t work with raw chicken, y’all, I really really can’t. I wish I could say to you that I didn’t almost start crying while touching the chicken, but sadly I cannot. I really can’t handle it like a mature adult. This is certainly one of the simplest recipe in all of Ina Garten’s repertoire, but I struggled with it HARD. I couldn’t loosen the chicken skin without screaming and then I couldn’t tell if it was done then I accidentally ate a piece of raw-ish chicken and then I set the smoke alarm off and had to air out my whole apartment aaaaaand it looked awful so I’m not even going to show it. GOD. Just enjoy the damn broiled grapefruit, byeeeeee

-Sophie

Leave a Reply

