another french meal?

The main course was Lemon Chicken with Croutons. This looked marvelous when it was brought out but the illusion was quickly shattered when I realized I had no idea how to carve a chicken and nobody else did either. I watched a few Youtube videos at the table (just like Ina does~!!!!!!) but ended up just hacking at the chicken and putting all the meat on a plate that people just took from….yikes. Still don’t know how to carve a chicken. But this was a really good chicken. The juices get all into the croutons mmmmmmmm it was good.

IMG_3135

This was supposed to be Endive, Orange, and Roquefort salad but I quickly nixed the endive when I actually started to work with it. I used baby spinach instead and it turned out to be a great summery salad. It has a really nice orange vinaigrette and has chunks of apples and oranges in it alongside toasted walnuts and blue cheese. Two thumbs up! Zero thumbs up for endive!

IMG_3132

Garlic Mashed Potatoes which gave me HELL. I tried to use our food mill which hadn’t been used in probably fifteen years and it wasn’t working and then I tried the hand mixer and potatoes were getting everywhere then I tried the food processor and it couldn’t hold all the potatoes so I did it in batches and there were potatoes on like seven different dishes and approximately every single inch of the kitchen. But they were good. Albeit unphotogenic.

IMG_3138

And I brought it home with….PROFITEROLES. My sister has been wanting me to make these forever and they did not disappoint. What a perfect dessert. And surprisingly easy to make! FIVE HUNDRED THUMBS UP

IMG_3141

All from the Barefoot in Paris cookbook except the salad which is BC Foolproof.

-Sophie

Leave a Reply

