CHALLAH!

I MADE CHALLAH, Y’ALL. Damn. What a journey. I experienced a bit of a challah burnout through my youth, eating it way too frequently at Temple preschool (we used to roll it up into balls and enjoy it with our apple juice during snacktime, it was gross) and then Sunday school and every week during Shabbat. The first time my Christian cousin ate challah, she became obsessed and I just didn’t get it. But when I made it today, I couldn’t even remember the last time I had eaten it, and it was GEEWWWWD. I had wanted to make bread for a long time, and I was just looking for a free day to dedicate to it. I’ve been working at a bakery and selling and smelling bread all day long and although I’m not there in the wee hours of the morning to see them bake and learn a few things, it has made me want to bake bread a whoooole lot more.

IMG_2395

I used an Eli Zabar recipe (had to go with the recipe of one of Ina’s BFFs since Ina herself does not have a challah recipe) and I think it turned out pretty well. The braiding went okay with the help of a little Youtube tutorial by a cheerful Jewish mom, but I certainly learned some things to keep in mind for next time.

This whole thing did however, unearth some dark memories of me wearing an Urban Outfitters graphic tee that read “Holla!” throughout most of my middle school years. The shirt is now immortalized in a quilt my mom made me but for a long period of time, I truly thought this was the funniest shit on earth.

IMG_1221

Yeah for bread! Yeah for yeast! Yeah for taking on BIGGER AND BETTER THINGS!

-Sophie

Leave a Reply

