un grand repas français

The other day, I finally got the Barefoot in Paris cookbook, which I had been dying to have ever since I started this whole thing. It was one of three Barefoot cookbooks we don’t own and perhaps the one I wanted the most. I’ve been itching to cook from it ever since. TODAY WAS THE DAY. Everything finished at the exact same time so I was crazy stressed at the end but it turned out pretty well.

IMG_1808

This is called Chicken With Forty Cloves of Garlic. The first time I read those words I nearly fell out of my chair with glee. Make it fifty, sixty, one hundred cloves of garlic. The more garlic the better. So I couldn’t wait to make this. It was so good. The garlic cooks with the chicken then you add cognac, cream, flour, etc. to make an amazing amazing sauce that I was putting on everything in sight. I got into such a zen state peeling those forty cloves of garlic. I may never get the garlic smell off of my hands but honestly, that would only be a problem for the people around me.

IMG_1810

Herbed New Potatoes. The flavor was good (thanks to freshly picked herbs from my mom’s community garden HOW INA AM I??) but the potatoes were ROCK HARD even though I followed the recipe! I roasted them in the oven for a bit but it didn’t help much. Oh well. Learning experience.

IMG_1813

Haricots Verts with roasted vegetables. I am twenty years old and still hate vegetables but I did eat about four of these.

IMG_1820

Chocolate Orange Mousse. All I have to say is YAS. The Grand Marnier proved to be a bit too strong for my little sister but I thought it was damn good.

IMG_0742

-Sophie

Leave a Reply

