salty oatmeal chocolate chunk cookies

My mom instilled a bit of fear in me when it comes to cookies. Every two weeks or so (often more), my mom bakes chocolate chip cookies. Because she’s a fallen angel. But these cookies were so perfect and these cookies were so her thing that I didn’t even try to make cookies from scratch once in my entire four year baking career. But listen kiddos, you gotta try everything once.

So I embarked on the journey of Ina Garten’s Salty Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk Cookies (should I just rebrand this whole thing as a Barefoot Contessa cooking blog? Whatever). Oatmeal chocolate chip is my all-time favorite cookie. Oatmeal raisin is bullshit and oatmeal chocolate chip is everything pure and good on earth. Add fleur de sel and very few things could go wrong.

IMG_1745

These cookies are FANTASTIC. They use bittersweet chocolate and when it mixes with the salt and oatmeal, it’s such an amazing blend of different flavors. Not overpowering or too sweet, making it very easy to eat a large number of them in one sitting. My dad doesn’t really like sweets (??!?!??!) and this was the first dessert he has eaten of mine and loved. Possibly ever.

IMG_1748

Using an ice cream scoop to shape the cookies produced big, crisp-on-the-edges, bakery style cookies that I was very proud of. We’re down to our last three of these and I’m very sad, but I will certainly be making these again. Hell yeah!!!!

-Sophie

Leave a Reply

